New requirements for travel in the US will come into effect in January 2018 . Archived Photo – Conspiracy Talk News

UNITED STATES (Conspiracy Talk News) – In January 2018, the Real ID Act came into effect, which obligates travellers in the United States to use a driving license with the new security measures that the government provided.

This week, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) moved the deadline to October 11, 2018 for states that are still in breach of the new rules.

That means that the driver’s licenses of nine states: Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington  will remain valid for air travel until next October.

By then, unless there is another extension, travellers from those states will need to carry their passports even on domestic flights. Otherwise they may use only the following type of identification:

– DHS reliable traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST).

-United States military identification (active or retired military service and its dependants, and civilians from the Department of Defence)

– Permanent residence card.

– Border crossing card.

-Passport issued by a foreign government.

-Employment Authorisation Card of the Immigration and Naturalisation Service (I-766).

Among the new requirements described in the 2005 REAL ID Act, it states that each state must require applicants for new IDs to present a photo identification or identification that includes full name and date of birth, proof of date of birth (usually a birth certificate), proof of residence and social security number and proof of address.

Identifications are also required to have the owner’s signature, gender, a unique identification number and certain anti-tampering or counterfeiting measures.

The government recommends that you check the portal for all the information that will take effect in January 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here